According to a recent report by our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the last year. Clearly, the content of these reviews is not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not in the quality of our movies but with public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater quantity of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

The adevrtising director states that recent attendance of people at super screen-produced movies is lessening, while there are growing positive reviews about some specific movies, therefore it is a prudent decision to allocate more funds to advertising section in order to inform higher number of people about the content of movies.This argument seems reasonable at first look, but it actually engages in several logical fallacies and unsound reasoning.

First, it is claimed that during the past year the rate of attendance has been low. One year is not enough time for doing surveys and reaching a definite conclusion. More time is needed to ensure about the trend of the market. Assuming that people are indeed visiting less, this phenomenon can have numerous reasons which are not mentioned in the argument. It is probable that the prices are high that fewer people can afford this movies, or the equipment, sound and display qualities of screens are not interesting enough for visitors which has deterred them from more attendance. It is highly likely that a more powerful rival has appeared in the market that is attracting more potential customers of super-screen movies, as a result they are confronting less visits.

Second, several questions must be answered regarding the reviewers. How many are them? and what is their interest? is is mentioned that their percanteges have been increased, but if they have been very few before growth then their numbers are not significant. It is also likely that the taste of critics is very different from the taste of public. Movies are very engaging in critic's views but very dull in public's mind.

Third, the director concludes that to promote the market they should assign more funds to advertising. How can be sure that more advertising can have a positive outcome? without close invetigation of the reason for downward trend this conclusion seems cursory. If the assumption that movies are boring, equipments are not user-friendly, prices are high or there are several better rivals turns true, then this conclusion turns futile. Hence, more funding without indetifying the shortcomings can lead to bigger debacles and even bankrupcy.

In summary, this arguments seems to lack seriously in cogency and persuasiveness. More concrete and valid data and surveys regarding the people's interests and opinions, market and price are required in order to reach a sound conclusion.