According to a recent report by our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the last year. Clearly, the content of these reviews is not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not in the quality of our movies but with public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater quantity of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.

The argument is based on several fallcious assumptions and fails to provide substantive evidences to support them. It makes the unwarranted assumption that the public's lack of awareness is the only problem and summarily disregards other important factors such as the credulity of the reviews or the numbers taken into account, thus rendering the main conclusion of the argument invalid.

First of all, the argument explicitely states that the percentage of positive reviewers have increased but doesn't specify any numbers. We need to ask, can we really trust these percentages? It can very well be that only 2 people gave positive reviews, thus increasing the percentage but compared to the entire 1000 people they are nothing. Again, there can be multiple positive reviews from a single person who is trying to improve the company's image. Perhaps, the positive reviews are so so or mostly close to neutral while the negative ones are excessively scathing and some arejust egregious. All of these accounts for the fact that even though the percentage increased, the actual quality of the movies haven't gone up, rather they may be even lower. Had the author provided any information regarding the validity and strengths of each positive review then that would strengthen the argument's claims. Even then he would have to further prove that this percentage increase is large enough when compared to the whole to become a significant factor in determining the quality of the movies.

Secondly, the recent report mentioned says that fewer people attended than in any other year. One might ask, just how less are the numbers or what is the validity of the reports. Perhaps, last year 2000 people visited and this year 1995 people visited which is less when compared to 2000 but not a very significant decrease to determine whether the public are less aware or not. Then the validity of the recent reports come into question. Are they valid? Are they done by disinterested people? If it turned out that the company was reporting fewer numbers of viewers to inflate its percentage increase then the arguments claim that the problem lies with solely the awareness of the public and not the quality falls apart. The argument, thus needs to provide solid evidence linking its increase in quality to the actual numbers presented to increase its credulity.

Finally, the argument suggests that super screen should allocate a greater share of its budget next year. Even if we ignore the fact that the quality of the movie isn't necessarily better to justify this increase, many other questions remain unanswered. Can Super Screen really manage to pull all these funds without jeoperdizing any other of its crucial sectors? It can lead to a greater downfall of customers if the quality or the customer services of the movies fell because the company was too busy advertising their products and funds had to be appropriated for that cause. Even after the funding problem is solved, we still cannot answer the question of the customer's probable increase. Many customers might ignore the advertisement while others might think that Super Screen is trying to complement its poor quality movies with fancy advertising. The advertising measure taken, therefore, can have either no effect or, worse, negative in some cases.

In conclusion, the argument makes several unattested assumptions and until further evidence is provided, these assumptions severely undermine the argument presented.