Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument posits that the deer population has been declining in the recent years and attributes this decrease to the melting of ice caused due to global warming. However, there is a necessity of stronger evidence to prove this fact.

The passage states that the deer populations have been declining. However, it does not mention whether the population has been decreasing in entire region or just one particular area. There might be a possibility that the deer population has simply migrated to other islands due to the paucity of food in their native place.

Even if we accept the fact that the population has been decreasing, it cannot be attributed to global warming due to the limited evidence provided by the passage. Although it is a widely known fact that global warming is the cause for the melting of glaciers in the Arctic region, we cannot blatantly posit that the ice between the Canadian Arctic islands has melted due to global warming and hence conclude that the deer population has decreased. There could be a possibility that the excess heat might simply be fatal to the deers and the reduction in ice may have nothing to do with the decrease in their population.

There may also be a possibility that the food crops might be infected or some wild poisonous weed is growing unchecked in the region. Another possibility could be an increase in poaching and deer hunting which could have rendered the deer population to decrease.

Hnece, there can be limitless reasons for the decline in deer population from the limited facts provided by the passage and the actual reason cannot be determined without a deeper insight into the matter. A further study needs to be carried out on the patterns of ice formation in that region and how global warming affects it. Also, the growth of plants, on which the deer feed, needs to be checked and any unwanted crops, if found, need to be eradicated.

The reason for decline in deer population cannot be ascribed to global warming without a deeper knowledge and study of the region where the deer population once thrived.