Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

In the given argument, the author states that deer is being unable to follow the age-old migration pattern across the frozen sea because of that deer’s population is declining. To support the conclusion author presents the some evidence on the basis of report of local hunter and global warning report. At first glance these evidence seem to buttress the author’s conclusion. But after the meticulous examination, author is unsuccessful to maintain many indispensible factors and raises some skeptical question. Hence, the author’s conclusion can be considered as incomplete and not convincing.

Firstly according to author deer search the food by walking over the island to island. It may be possible that deer is not able to find proper food resources or even it may be possible that the limited amount of food resource as mentioned by author may go through paucity because of that deer’s population is declining.

In the given prompt only the hunter’s report is given so in my opinion perhaps excessive hunting practice by the local hunter for deer’s meet, skin , horns may be one the main reason for declining of deer’s population. In the world excessive and illegal hunting has significantly lower of different species such as lion, tiger etc. so if this case is true in this scenario the given conclusion may be somehow skeptical.

As we know that because of global warming snow melts , but because of same reason excessive cold also occur which might again increase the freezing amount of snow. If such case happens then at that condition, through more freezing ice deer can migrate from island to island for the search of food.

In conclusion the author’s conclusion is rife with holes and flaws, so it is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it, author needs to provide specific evidence as we discussed above. Also author ought to have knowledge about other contributing factor in order to make argument wise and plausible. Without further research this argument will be un substantial and open to debate.