Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

The author is discussing about arctic deer migration for food during certain period, their location and observation from specific group of people. Though argument looks compelling and in accord with reasons provided, meticulous observation to details would prove argument dubious. There are three major reasons based on which author has articulated the whole argument.

First, based on observation from local hunters, author is agreeing to the fact that the deer population has been declining. However, there can be completely different scenario where, deer might have found a way to hide from hunters or deer are using different route to migrate from island to island in search of food. Also, there is no scientific method has been deployed to conclude declining deer population.

Second, author is referring to reports of global warming. However, author abstains from mentioning specific details about global warming report. Yes, there is ice melt down due to global warming and can cause sea route to close for migration. In spite of this fact, author has failed to create a logical link between melting ice and route of migration.

Third, author is describing about migration pattern across frozen sea for food,which is plants from warmer area. There can be a situation where because of global warming, few area in to deer vicinity have started growing plants required and thus, deer are not required to migrate to distant area.

Hence, until and unless we have more specific details on deer, their migration patterns in recent times and food cycle, author should refrain from concluding anything in hast, based on observation from local hunters.