In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

The argument states that Prunty Couty should undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago. The author backs this argument by citing 25 percent less accident in Prunty County last year. Although, it seems plausible at cursory reading but an in dept analysis reveals may loop holes and flaws.

First, the author unjustifiably assumes that the accident is because of the high speeding cars on all county highways. There could be umpteen factors that might have been responsible for the growing accidents on Butler County. For instance, poor condition of roads which makes it difficult to drive safely or the graft in licence department which might be sanctioning licence to novice drivers. The author fails to establish a palpable relationship with the speed of cars and the number of accidents. This could have been strengthened if the author had provided some data to back its claim. For example, number of accidents in past year due to high speed.

Second, the author assumes that lowered speed limit did not work based on the reports of many driver exceeding speed limit. This puts light on the effectiveness of the police department rather the method. Have they adopted stringent policies against high speeding cars the picture could have been different.

Finally, author back its claim by citing the reduced percentage in Prunty County. The mitigation that worked for Prunty might not work Butler County as the variable associated with the premises changes. To exemplify, if the condition does not allow for widening of roads in Prunty County because of the presence of some obstruction. Therefore, the analogy the author is trying show might not work.

In conclusion, the author fails to provide substantiated evidence to back its claim. The argument could have been to bolster if the author has provided data which .states that the high speed car are the major cause of accidents on Prunty County. As of state, the argument is unwarranted