In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author argues that prunty should undertake the same road improvement project that butler completed five years ago. Although this argument may seem sound at first, the lack of evidence leads to question the validity of the argument.

first, the author needs to provide evidence that the failure of the safety effort last year yielded the constant rate of accidents in prunty. since the speed limit was lowered last year, it is possible that many people ae not aware of the changes. thus, teh results of lowering the speed limit should be viewed in the long run in prunty. Even if people are aware of the changes, it is plausible that accidents did not decrease due to adverse weather conditions, not dut to the failure of the safety effort. Then, lowering the speed limit may actually be effective.

Furthermore, the author needs to supplement the argument with concrete evidence that initial conditions of the past year and five years ago are similar in butler to prove that a decrease in aciidents is significant and indicates an absence of problems. it is likely that there were fewer reported accidents this past year since there were fewer cars on the road and less traffic. On the other hand, five years age there may have beed a plethora of cars with more risk-taking drivers.

In addition, if the initial number of accidents is negligible, 25% may not be a substantial decrease in accidents. The 55mph speed limit might still be a problem because it did not significantly influence decreased accidents. Lastly, specific evidence on the inherent conditions of butler and prunty is needed for the soundness of the conclusion. The author adamantly believes that prunty shoud rashly follow butler by increasing lane widths and resurfacing rough highways. However, in all likelihood, the roads in prunty are already wide. thus, there is no need to make them wider. it also likely that butler has very rough roads, whereas prunty's roads are fairly smooth. this would indicate that prunty would not need to follow butler and resurface their roads.

In brief, the author's argument is not sound in many respects. To strengthen the argument, he needs to reconsider the possibilities that could have influenced the accident rate.