The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The real state business are very customer driven and require a lot of investment. The author here tires to compare two companies based on many attributes that changes over time. To simplify further these business are done based on the number of factors that changes over a period of time. Talking about the firms the authors mentions about the firms in which are operating in his town. Adams and Fitch business would definitely be running at many different places but the comparison has narrow down to the author own city. A firms employee hiring policy dosen't guarantee any rock solid foundation for the firm valuation. The other aspect for Fitch to hire part-time employees might be based on the client conversion in per agent per hour would be high for Fitch than Adams.

The revenue sales depicts the data that Adams revenue being better than Fitch which conveys that Adams market conversion rate was better that year compared to Fitch. This clearly puts Adams on better performer of the year. Though double amount revenue claim made by author is not supported in the information given. This points bring in the topic to evaluate the source of income of both the firms to establish certain point regarding business expertise. The revenue details of the companies will help us decide better performer of the year in real state sector. The area in which in these agents operate and the type of homes they deal with put a considerable amount of differences in revenue. Newly developed area has better opportunities on the other hand commercial plots and places pays better money.

Th author has compared two scenarios that are way apart in comparison. The time are way different when we talk about developing countries. Increase in population and demand has contributed in surge hike in real state prices. First house location if differs from the second one then time comparison cannot be said legitimate. The countries growth rate and people financial conditions are major factor in controlling real state sector boom. Prices at which properties are sold dosen't much depend on the agent but on market rate of the area. With no basic information such comparisons are prone to mislead.

So generalizing that Adams provide better deal in short period of time based on the information given dosen't seem to produce any conclusive result unless until more information regarding the same in provided.