The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author has stated a possible issue in finding accommodation in future and proposed an idea to overcome it in this memo. According to this passage, the number of students are increasing in every intake and students may face a problem of housing in coming future. But we must consider certain circumstances or conduct certain surveys to evaluate the need of this recommendation.

Author has stated that average rent of off-campus apartment has risen in recent years. That’s why student will prefer on campus housing over off-campus apartment. But there will be an establishment cost to build new dormitories. If the college has to build several dormitories this cost will be much higher and this cost will be added to the housing rent of future students. Now this extra establishment cost over normal rent and maintenance charge can make overall housing fee much higher. If this cost exceeds the average rent of an off-campus apartment, student may not like to take on-campus dormitories.

A survey also must be conducted or data may be taken from respective office to know the native places of students. If there is a large number of students hailing from Buckingham, then there is a less chance student will rent dormitories. They may prefer to come in college from their home. So, the actual need or demand of dormitories must be evaluated before building it.

Now an adequate amount of lands are also needed to new dorms. The amount of free lands in the college also needs to be evaluated and the authority has to make sure that these much of land are sufficient to build new dormitories. But if there is a scarce of land, then cost of acquiring land will also increase the establishment cost of the new dormitories.

The author has predicted number of students are likely to be doubled in next 50 years. Now, 50 years is a large timeline. A lot of change can happen in this 50 years. Many new colleges may grow up in this time period and it may happen that students will prefer those colleges over Buckingham College. This change in trend may bring a futile result to the idea of building new dormitories.

At last, author pointed out that new dormitories will attract prospective students. But a prospective student first research about the quality of education or qualification of faculties provided by the college over accommodation arrangement. Students are more likely to take admission in a college which has better quality of education over attractive dorms.