The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the given memo the vice president of Quiot manufacturing explained about reason of on-the-job accidents in industrial plant. According to him the Panoply Industries plant took correct decision to reduce one hour from working because the research suggested that the on-the-job accidents caused due to fatigue and sleep deprivation. There are so many factors which can be a reason for accidents in industries and these reasons are not mentioned and calculated before taking decision of cut working hours.

Moreover, the industries run on technologies and large-scale machines and these machines are control by workers. The workers are careful about their working styles, but machines need timely maintenance. Sometimes we read in newspapers the accidents happened due to ignorance to maintenance of machines and industries blame to workers to save themselves from heavy punishment. The Bhopal Gas Tragedy,1984 happened due to ignorance of owner and poisonous gas leaked from chemical tank and so many people died, but the owner still fights in court and blame to workers. So, the accidents are taking place not only because of fatigue and sleep deprivation but also there are major factors also.

Furthermore, the large-scale industries take care of their staff members who works in lavish offices and ignore the workers who really work hard physically and mentally also. Industries call doctors and their team for regular check-up of the employee of office and provide good services to make them healthy where as the workers get such facilities ones in blue moon. Despite reducing one hour of working the industries should plan for regular medical check-up and offer good facilities to make them physically healthy. The vice president may adjusted one weekly off for the employees and regular medical checkup to reduce the accidents.

Additionally, the researches are based on some facts and consider some variable as constant. In same way the Panoply Industries plant’s research also based on some constant factors present there so we can not assume that the same factors are also applicable in Quiot Industry also. The vice-president should do a polit research and then concluded about accidents occurs in their industry.

Finally, the Quiot Industry can not copy the same idea from any nearby industry to reduce accidents. Quito industry should plan a monitory unit and analyze the reasons of on-the-job accidents and then apply the solutions.