In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

As the water sports were ranked among their favorite recreational activity by the Mason City population and after the state plans to clean up the river's water, the argument claims that water sports will surely increase and the government should invest money to riverside facilities.However, there are complaints from the residents about the river's quality and smell,it does ensure that the usage of the river for water sport will increase. Therefore, we need to know in which position the water sports were ranked, the percentage from the population that complained about the river and if this complains have a straightforward relationship with the use of the river for water sports.

First, the water sports had been ranked among their favorite activities, but it does not mean that the population really practices this often or if they do it at Mason city's river. It's necessary to know which sports are most practiced by the population, to ensure that they really play this sports often. For example, skydiving could be someone favorite sports, but it does not means that the person do this frequently. So, we cannot ensure that the water sports pratice would increse by this statement.

Second, the argument cited complaints about the river's water, but it does not metion how many complaints the population did and how may people did it. It could been just a few people or a good percentage of the population. So, by the argument we cannot ensure that the complains represents a good part of the Mason city residents.

Third, We cannot ensure that these complaints have a direct relationship with the use of the water for sports. Maybe the residents were complaining because of the view or because they want to feel comfortable using the area around the river.

Finally, as we coud analyze, to clean up the river's water does not mean that the water sports will increase. If the city government invest the money at the riverside recreational facilities without looking for reasonable statistics about the population intention to use the river for sports, they could end up wasting money on something that the residents will not use. Moreover,they could receive complaints about the government money management as the government should invest in real demands of the residents.