In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

the argument that, the city government should devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities, is not entirely logically convincing, since it ignores certain crucial assumption and the research is also incomplete as well.

first, the argument assumes that, if river is going to clean up then use of river for water sports is sure increase.

second, the argument never addresses that, because of water is dirty, the use of river for water sports is decrease.

finally, the argument omits that only budget is not important to clean up the river and increase the use of river for water sports.

thus, the argument is not completely sound. the evidence in support of the conclusion "the city government should devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities"

ultimately, the argument might have been strengthened by, give the education to people to clean up the river or not through the dust on the river and use the river for water sports.