All college and university students would benefit from spending at least one semester studying in a foreign country

In a fast-developing world, college and university’s idea that urging students to study in a foreign country in a person instead of by staring on the screen or listening lectures is significant. While university and college’s students could go to a foreign country to study one or more than one semester depend on their financial budge and opportunity, it should not be listed as a requirement for every student.

Going to a foreign country to study for a short-term would benefit college students’ understand ability. Every culture in a different country has its particularity, only reading the book and watching movie could not reach the deep level of understanding except going to the land in person. College students are at the stage of solving the questions that they are curious and to explore the world widely and deeply, thus, learning local knowledge from the local area is the best option.

While going to learn in a foreign country is a very beneficial and meaningful experience to college kids, it is also a path full of challenge and frustration which allow students develop a mutual understanding ability during the daily conflict and confusion. Take my experience for example, in my country - China, a relationship between two persons is a social capital to use. When I waiting in a long line, if I know a staff I can skip the line by calling the staff that I want to go to in front of the line without paying any extra money just because the staff is my friend. However, when I came to Japan, everywhere need to line if too many people waiting there. No matter I am a friend with who, I must wait on the line. I understand that strict social rule is a very important factor that keeping the crowded society run efficiently and support the politeness. Therefore, experience a foreign culture can help people jump out of common sense, therefore, to understand society better.

Besides, the friendship developed in a foreign country is a very precious experience. Mutual understanding, respect, patience, and grateful nurtured spirit of cooperation, and communication. Students certainly can have a great future because of their experience by learning from people living in a different situation.

However, studying in a foreign country could be very expensive too. For students who come from a poor family or in a difficult situation, it is unnecessary to ask them to study in a foreign country to graduate. Students also can learn from international students in their own campus and help them, which is also a valuable experience that reaches the goal of college and university’s education- to inspire student, to cultivate learning ability, and to explore the world.

Therefore, it is undoubted that letting student study in a foreign country for a short-term during college would be a very cherish and significant opportunity. However, it could be a choice or a chance for a student instead of a requirement for every student.