College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Selecting a college major is one of the vital task that help students to shape and direct their career path. Opting for a relevant course is important for students to direct themselves in the right path. Not thinking properly at the time of selection, would diverge their career path in a direction where students might get bored or frustrated. Therefore, I believe the choices of the field of study in the college should be made with scrutiny and not simply thinking about the current job scenario.

One doesn't have to think a lot while selecting the subjects in the school, while in the college, on the other hand, it's vital to select the cources of one's liking. Otherwise, if the student selects a wrong course, would have to cope up with the subject's complications. In doing so, the student would not be able to score better grades and thus will result in a incompitent job. A student, for instance, have a penchant in computer science and technologies, if selects a cource related to history or anything irrelevant to his likings - which has a good job opportunities in the present time, would have to face difficulties in learning the subject because that subject will appear trite and boring. Moreover, it's important for the student to score good marks in order to placed in a better job. However, the student won't be able to get good marks because of his interests.

In addition to this, the students who opt for the subjects concomitted to the better job opportunities instead of keeping their interests aside will not be able to contribute any innovative and ingineous ideas to their field of study. For instance, if Lata Mangeshkar - renowed Indian singer, would have choiced for studying then she wouldn't have contributed to the world with several famous songs. Because she opted for what she likes, she was able to persieve it consummately and was able to think differently than others. Henceforth, the sudents should decide their subjects by considering all the factors and think sagaciously.

To sum, according to the aforementioned points, it's cogent to select the college major according to your likings and interests rather then considering the current availability of the jobs, otherwise, it raise frustrations and feeling of incompetency in the students.