Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

The field of critics has always been prosperous. From the esoteric prose of ancient literature savants to the transient pop songs on the billboard, the critics have shaped the public's understanding on so many fronts. The prompt suggests that the critical judgment of work is only valuable when it comes from professionals. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with this claim and argue that while it is true that most experts are good at giving impartial judgments but they are not unassailable.

To begin, the reason why experts are being called experts is that he or she has a more authoratative insight regarding the topic because of the time he or she has put into the subject and the consequent more comprehensive knowledge than the mass public. In fields of serious literature, arts, and science, it is also important that the critic receives enough of the approval from his contemporaries. For instance, for comtemporary arts, it is often regarded by the mass public as difficult to understand while in the mean time once it is endorsed by some portentate in the area, the price will just sky-rocket. Obviously, it is because the public recognize value of the endorsement of an expert which indicates an expert critic's judgment have a pragmatic value of shaping the public opinion.

However, the expert's opinion might seem plausible at the time being, it does not ensure its timelessness. For instance, the pop art tycoon Keith Harring has made early success in his career in Newyork where he later opens his own shop, a shop that sells products like t-shirts, mugs, or framed photo print of his works. This conduct of relating art with retail industry is, as in the mind of Keith Harring, a way of conveying access of the then deemed sanctimonious art to the mass public. At the time, most of the main stream critics criticized his doing and maintained that it is not the right way and it would decrease the artistic value of his work. On the contrary, this practice later proves to be a major success, both commercially and artistically, and made Harring one of the most influential artists of our time. The above example illustrates that the expert's opinion may not always proves to be true and we should be smart enough not to blindly follow everything they say.

Finally, in terms of value, there is a standard for a general one while there is also an individualized one. For instance, it is a common practice for many of us today to look for commentary on websites like IMDB and other forums for both lengthy and short comments to look for others’ opinion on the film. While there maybe experts composing verbose articles on the picture, we also unintentionally look for short comments by random people that feels the same way we do on certain scenes or a unforgettable character. The satisfaction of finding people who feel alike or notice a certain detail sometime have more of a emotional value than reading a whole passage of a comprehensive anatomy of the picture one just watched. From this instance, we can say that with a different definition of value, the expert’s opinion is not always necessary and one is encouraged to have his or her own standard.

In conclusion, it is a true complicated issue. From the example shown, there are compelling reasons for the existence of experts’ judgements on many fields. Their opinions sometimes are valuable in nurturing a conducive majority opinion. One the other hand, their opinions may not be applicable in all instances. In drawing from both sides of the argument, it seems more plausible to conclude that experts’ judgements are not always right and individual are free to judge whatever they feel like.