Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

There has always been a debate when it comes to funding of the scientific research in society and more so if we do not know the consequences as many people are of the opinion that these funding's are a waste of money that could feed several mouths and could be put to some humanitarian purpose.

While there are cases when the outcomes are unclear and may not be beneficial for that field anymore, however, these findings can used in some other fields. For example, the touchscreen of the mobile phone was invented in a chemical laboratory and now has become a part to our daily lives. Even with unknown consequences, we may be able to better understand the world. For example, if we send a satellite in space that cost us billions of dollars, and we came to know that the satellite will never return to us. But there is a possibility that some another alien life form found it and decoded our message and they came looking for us. Can you imagine the breakthrough that our mankind achieved ? However, there is also a possibility that consequences could be devastating. Like the case of Chernobyl where the nuclear power plant exploded while testing it. The explosion cost millions and took many lives. Even the next generations of those affected

are suffering from its side effects.

Examples above suggest that even while the consequences are unclear, there are pros are cons to both of them but there we are a competitive human race who like challenges and it is in our nature to be curious, so hindering that curiosity could also be damaging if we stop research out of fear of not knowing its consequences.