If a goal is worthy, then any means taken to attain it are justifiable.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

From a consequentialist standpoint, euthanasia can be justified because they believe a morally right act is the one that will produce a good outcome, which would reduce the suffering of a dying patient. However, a society that is ruled by such principle would be susceptible to becoming an immoral society. When it comes to justice, the intrinsic cause is a more important thing to be accounted for than the impacts of consequence. Thus, I disagree with the statement that supports the consequentialist viewpoint.

Of course, even when one's intention was innocent, if its consequence was harmful, he or she is responsible for the action that he made; for accidental murder, one must be punished accordingly. Nevertheless, not all consequences cannot be praised or acknowledged. In many cases, seemingly beneficial results can turn out to be the cause of evil decisions.

The reason why I disagree with the above statement can be best explained with the famous Professor Michal Sandal's Harvard lecture on Utilitarianism. His lecture begins with a question as to whether the action that can spare the lives of five on a trolly car that is about to rack at the end of the track by flipping over the fat man leaning over the bypass bridge to act as a heavy object that would stop it from running can be justified. Obviously, we know such behavior is not morally acceptable although a larger number of people can benefit from sacrifice.

Another compelling example can be seen in an officer's violation of due process when arresting criminals. Due process is an important regulation that the court reviews when they question on the enforcement of laws. In any case, public officers' vow to uphold should not justify an act of breaking laws as an excuse to enforce them. A Miranda warning, which is a prophylactic criminal procedure requires law enforcement to protect an individual who is in custody and subject to direct questioning. The police men's ruthless beating of a black motorist outraged the LA riot in 1992 and a chain of events. Out society honors those who accomplished their goal by means of fair play rather than double standards.

Although it is a common human behavior trait to rush toward obtaining their goal by any methods, such actions should be prevented; otherwise, our society would suffer from corruption or abusive behaviors. In many murder cases, the cause of death is more importantly weighted than the result itself because of the motive or intention is a key factor in judging as to whether a defendant is guilty or can be justified for his action as reasonable self-defense.