A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The issue stated sounds dictatorial. Its mandatory nature makes me not to agree with the statement. The part of the sentence "all of its students" comprise a very wide variety of students, each having a different set of caliber and hence they should be taught according to their respective capabilities.

Einstein the great scientist, once said "If you judge a fish by its capability to climb, then it will live its whole life thinking that it is dumb". He himself faced this conundrum while in school, teachers used to send him out of class and used to call him retard. Therefore, it is important to realize that every student is unique and is capable of doing great things. And that is why, our education system should be effective enough to elicit that one thing that a student might do efficiently.

Earlier, everything used to be made for general public use "what fits all". However nowadays with advancement in science and technology, everything is customized and cut out uniquely for person. For example- customized cars, customized house, customized mobile phones, customized vacation plans etc. However, the one thing which has not changed from centuries is our teaching style. It is still following that one fits all culture, where a teachers teaches same thing to all students. Therefore, it is imperative to customize our education too so that, every child gets a cut out education and focus on what he really excel in.

Coming to the other side of the issue, it can be beneficial to provide same kind of education to all students. As this will ensure, equal exposure to all fields and to all students, which might in fact be construed as fundamental to provide equal opportunities to all students. But this in fact is depriving students of opportunities they can actually focus and become successful.

In conclusion, it is not right to force a student to study a subject he is not interested or do not want to pursue. Although basic subjects, which provide essential, universal knowledge should be mandatory, but specialized subjects should be optional. This way we can ensure a bright future for student, who will be capable of foreseeing the line of trade he wants to pursue.