A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

It is a debatable issue whether scholars should all accumulate knowledge regarding the same subjects as long as they are studying in a school. Some may agree with it stating that a person can only be complete after attaining knowledge regarding every aspect, by being able to see a complete picture. However, while getting to know about various aspects through a specific curriculum is a good thing, one should not be denied the opportunity to learn more about their field of interest and less about the topics which, the student is unable to grasp even after studying. For this reason, the laws of the nation should not restrict the students below college level to a predefined curriculum.

Having an overall knowledge about various aspects included in the national curriculum can help an individual become not just knowledgeable, but also wise. Any person with an extreme knowledge in one field but lacking knowledge and skill in every other field is not likely to have his//her overall personality developed. For instance, consider a little boy who is attracted to the field of computer science and has been taught only that topic for his whole life. The boy isn't taught about any aspects such as social science and values and ethics. In such a case, the child might be a computer genius, but later might bring innovations that harm the society. After all, that individual knows little about the importance of ethics and society. If the child had been taught about all aspects through a national curriculum, the child might have to know the difference between good and evil. But since that was not the case, his innocence might become the root of his evil.

However, this is not always the case. I reality, there are many cases in which people do not even get the opportunity to attend college. With the knowledge and skills they have accumulated in school, they are expected to make a living. In such a scenario, children can benefit from the freedom of choice among various topics of interest rather than being caged to the predefined system. If a person is to study only till high school, the person may benefit from learning subjects that might help a person get a job such as accounting and management rather than from memorizing the exact dates of events in the world war. In such a scenario, a person an benefit a lot by studying specialized and tailored curriculum rather than a generalized one.

Moreover, many children have certain aspects in which they are really talented and some which make them seem as if they are creatures of a low level of intelligence. Consider a little girl in her school, she is totally fascinated with equations of maths and the miracles of science but always struggled with memorizing the constitutions of our country, and names of all Kings in her country. Though she was a brilliant student of science, her grades in social studies always ensured her overall grades were down and she was considered a weak student. In such a scenario, rather than making her study hard subjects, if she has the freedom to choose subjects, she might actually be able to feel intelligent and give priority to learning.

In this way, even though studying a general curriculum might be advantageous in certain circumstances, individuals should not be denied the freedom to choose certain subjects of their interest.