A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The structure of a school national system is influenced by a wide list of factors. While governments try to find the best set for their schools, it is interesting to consider a hypotetical policy that requires students to study all the same national curriculum before college. As it is unobjectable, though, there are many reasons not to consider this policy a lawless one.

To begin with, a consistent issue that has to be addressed is the specific definition of the curriculum. It is clearly evident, in fact, that to expect all the students to follow a single general path in their studies it is necessary to adopt a number of criteria to determin the perfect and universal curriculum. For instance, what are the subjects that can most of all improve students' success in their future careers? What are those that ar mandatory to build up a fundamental code of morals as to furnish the nation with decent citizens? It is unavoidable to maintain that this specific necessity consitutes an crucial occurrence that has to considered. If the nation is able to set a clear method to study the best possible curriculum, only then it is to be deemed correct to guide students through a globally common study plan.

Nevertheless, this hypotetical method has to deal with a number of personal idiosyncrasies. An effective example of this is the Italian school system, world-wide celebrated as one of the more thourough. Its main and pivotal feature is the possibility given to Italian students to choose their study career among a wide variety of topics and levels. This results in a greater enthusiasm reguarding school subjects and, eventually, a higher cutural levels that directly comes from the more substantial effort that students put in their chosen studies. This is, without a doubt, a reasonable consequence of the continuity between people's interests and virtues and school paths. What is more, a compelling evidence of this mechanism is given by the data collected about students that cannot achieve their final diploma: most of them considered the subject they had to study as boring and useless, just in a specularly opposite way of the excitement demonstrated by the best students of the same schools. Hence, the main circumnstance that should be analized is the range of interests and virtues of the students of the a nation. If, for any reason, the areas of interests are not so dramatically different, then it is probably cunning to adopt such an education policy.

An other point that can be crucial to determine whether or not to find advantagious the stated policy is the effectiveness of some curricula differently from others. Having a superficial look at graphs and reports, it could be sentenced, for example, that scientific paths have a really greater impact in the burgeoning of a nation economy. In fact, colleges that specialize in engineering, chemistry, physiscs and maths are, generally speaking, more productive than others (as highlighted by a plethora of recent social and economical surveys). Notwithstanding the foregoing, it winds up to be strictly wrong to deduce that everyone should follow a scientific curriculum before univerisity. Indeed, an ever-increasing amount of young students find their way to success through humanistic and historical studies, and, as a matter of fact, the best percentile of the managing upper-class is constituted by people that decided to study curricula that had nothing to do with what they chose in colleges.