As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

I consierably agree with this statement - yes, our being dependent on the technology for each and every aspect of life will weaken the ability of mind.

The cognitive caliber of humans will reduce to a great extent, because of not being used. The simplest example of a basic production of technology - an archetype of calculations - the calculator, if used extensively, the brain will become contingent upon it for even fundamental maths consisting of addition, subtraction of not very large numbers. I have personally observed this in different shopkeepers, one who performs these financial calculations in mind has far more fertile brain than the others who use this machine for the same purpose.

Another example - The mobile phone - people are so much accustomed to its use that they are unable to think of the rudimentary facts that sould be on the tips. E.g. To find out the directions (East, West, North, South), I have seen people immediately forage for their mobile phone, even when they are easily able to see the sun, and can therefore readily infer the directions.

But the technology has its own positive side, where it is helpful in myriad of complex situations and it should be utilized.

A man must remember that he created the technology and the mind is more stronger than technology, if he stops using his mind, the advancement of technology will also wane. Relying on the technology should be balanced and the mind should be given its own space.