To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

I do not completely agree with the statement that to understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities. Although the major cities may provide considerable information about almost all of the different cultures present in a country, but to gather plenary information and deep insight into the finer details of every culture, one needs to visit the other smaller cities.

The major cities in every country have become cosmopolitan due to rapid advancement of the science and technology providing easy commuting facilities. People are now more demanding in fulfilling their desires and in order to satiate themselves, they abandon their small cities and settle in the bigger ones, for higher education, profession and even for business opportunities. Due to this challenging and competitive environment, the values and ethics of their original culture are diluted and can't be seen as full as in the outskirts of the country. Moreover, due to a lot of immigrants from other countries to the major cities, it is sometimes hard to identify which societies are endemic to that geographical area and which are immigrants. An example of this is the Muslim society prevalent in certain parts of India, who are originally from Pakistan. You could find many enclaves of Muslim society and misconstrue that area to belong to a muslim culture, although it is not.

Also, if you want to see the beauty and aesthetic aspects of that country, it is beneficial to travel across the small, less important cities. E.g, In India, if you visit only Delhi, you will not be able to admire the bucolic aspects of India, which are seen in Kerala full of natural greenery, Himachal Pradesh - full of hilly areas and beautiful mountains. The people there in small villages and towns are still fascinated with their pure cultural and traditional habits.

Although major cities are helpful in getting a superficial overview of the different societies, food habits, dressing habits and professions, but they are essentially amalgamation and it is hard to identify the distinct characteristics of a particular culture out of that mix habits. So, I would conclude that to understand a society fully, one must travel to major as well as minor cities.