The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment

Talent is accessed on the performance of the person, that doesn't mean that person is alive or dead. Talent is something that is innate in person or which comes from the birth. Talent cannot be learned but skills can be improved by practice. The argument given is inappropriate which I'll explain step by step.

Firstly, the real talent of a popular musician can be assessed while he or she is alive for example Katy Perry is the popular musician in North America, She is the very good singer as well as guitar player. Her talent is well known throughout the world, I agree that she got success in her 20s and 30s but that doesn't mean she has to die to get fame. She is also doing live performances throughout the world.

Secondly, Arijit Singh a very well known singer in India. There is no person in India who doesn't know him, from last 5-10 years he is the most famous musician in India. He is a very talented person, he is also still alive also he is famous. There was a time in Bollywood when there was no movie in which Arijit's song was not there

Thirdly, another example from India is Armaan Mallik he started singing in Bollywood industry when he was just 19 or 20 years old, what a talented musician he is, also he is the highly paid musician in this industry. His talent has also been assessed and also he is alive and doing the absolutely remarkable job. He is also famous all over the world.

Thus, according to me the real talent of the musician can be assessed while they are alive. There are many examples of musicians who are still alive and their talent is very well assessed.