Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Even before one could decide whether discussion of scandal are useful or not for the betterment of the society, one should define what kind of scandal which should be beneficial and detrimental in nature, is it a scandal about the bribery scams or the corruption scam or an affair between celebrity. obviously the bribery and corruption scam will be an eye opener for the denizens of the society, who can take matter to higher authority and the sort the matter out. So scandals are good for and weeding out the bad seeds.

Corruption is widespread evil of the society which can eat it from inside out. In these daunting situation their is a need of model leaders and citizens as well. But not all the political leaders are faithful, one who seems to be loyal leader on the outside may be corrupt from inside, some may be using the allocated money for a project for their own benefit. Until and unless these matters see the light of the day these kind of leader will keep on doing the same thing. So once this matter comes out, the higher authority should see to it and punish the culprit.

Such incidents can become a ringing bell for the others, and keeps others in check. One such incident is of cabinet minister Suresh kalmadi, who was accused of corruption scandal in the construction and management of the commonwealth village in new Delhi. Once the people and media came to know about it, they started to question about the other matters, which looked suspicious like coal-gate, MANREGA ets,. however as every thing has a good and bad side to it, sometimes innocents are driven through the mud even if they did not have any hand in it. This may sometime lead to scandals being used as a tool by the rivals to discredit a good loyal leader in ruining one's career. This will have a adverse effect on the denizens of the society and can pose severe repercussion on the development of overall success of the society.

So to sum it up scandals can be decisive tool in rectifying the unfaithful leaders, however the it should be used in such a manner as to benefit, rather than being stymie in development of the society or a nation.