The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

it is not eccentric to argue that in the world, we live, assessing national greatness is a debatable issue among people. While some people think that reaching nation greatness by the use of its rulers or artist success is the best surest idea, others oppose this stance. In my view, I mostly agree with the idea that using peoples’ well-being is more accurate and rational idea to measure national greatness as compared with the use of leaders or artists achievements because of two reasons.

Assessing a nation in terms of greatness by the use of rulers’ or artists’ accomplishments is not valid and reliable. Are all artists or even rulers representatives of all people who live in the country or they are representative of parts of the society? In fact, in some country like developing, one's leaders are dictators, and they do not allow to people to elect them, so any prosperity of rulers in this country do not reflect peoples’ well-being. For example, Mohammad Ghazafi who was the leader of Libya could achieve the nuclear powers, and he also had lots of the adherents and wealth, yet the Libya people did not have access to their country wealth or facilities, as he controlled all the incomes which were originated from oil selling by himself, and ignoring peoples’ wishes and requests. Therefore, measuring peoples’ general well-being through the use of their rulers’ achievements is a fallacious issue. Moreover, the probability that artists or rulers make exaggeration on their achievements is higher than general peoples. To explain more, the rulers or artists could impacts on peoples by the use of their propaganda. For example, some TV program in the unites states like Fox News demonstrated every detail of presidents achievements.in repeated time to influence on people. Sometimes this type of mass-media is blamed due to receiving debauchery from leaders or artist to say their dictum to peoples.

Further, using general peoples’ well-being as the best indicator of national greatness is a logical issue. To clarify this point, building greatness among people have been achieved in long term periods, and rulers and artists success only have a transitory effect on nations greatness. On the other hand, when people experience welfare these traits remain and pass over their generations, and it could improve the national greatness for many years. For example, special leaders’ achievements could be deteriorated by the next leaders, yet peoples well-being is the status of a permanent and it remains during the time. Furthermore, there is some measurement that could estimates peoples well-being, but to assess rulers or artists success is an arduous issue. For instance, quantity and quality of life are the best indicators of peoples’ welfares. In contrast, any measure to evaluate leaders prosperity has been affected by their view. To be more precise, sometimes leaders are eager to attract more people to vote them for the next voting by the exaggerating on their success.

Although using peoples well-being is more valid indicators in contrast with the leaders or scientific achievements, they have some weakness. To explain more, everyone has own definition of well-being and to get nation greatness every researcher should conciliate plentiful data of different viewpoints, so this activity is frustrating, and costly issue.

In summary, while some people think that measuring nation greatness by the use of leaders achievements is a rational idea, I disagree with this claim due to its unreliability and invalidity.