To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In today's contemporary and fast paced world, undoubtedly the major and important cities will be determining the economic and political status of the country. Most of the international compay branches can be found mainly in the metropilitan cities of a country. But in order to understand the important characteristics of a society one must look at all the urban and rural places of a country and not just the major cities.

Firstly, it is completly evident that all the IT companies and infrasturcture are mainly located in the major cities. Consider the metropolitan cities of India like New Delhi the capital city of India, Bangalore etc has all the best facilities in the country. Not just India, consider Paris of France it has the greatest tourist attraction in its country. Beijing of China, its capital city is one of the beautiful plae in the country of China. But it cannot be generalised that these countries alone will be able to determine the cultures, traditions and important characteristis of their countries.

Consider India, if one wants to know the real traditions and cultures of India, they must surely visit the rural places and villages of the country. The villages are the remainder of the traditions people often forget to remember in the urban places of the country. Many of the almost forgotten important dates will be remembered by only these people and celebrated here. One can find actual peace here in contrast to the cities.

Although, if someone wants to determine solely the political or the economic status of the country there is no point concluding it by just looking at the villages or the rural places in the country. In this case, the rural places of a particular nation play a major role as most of the developments can be often found there.

Finally, in order to know what a country is and to determine the important characteristics of a society one must consider all the places and should not determine it by just looking at the major cities.