To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Some people believe that we must know major cities of a society in order to scrutinize the most important characteristics of it. However, I strongly believe that it is not true, I think acknowledged with a single person and minor cities are more helpful in understanding a society.

A person is more significant factor that represents the features of the society. A preeminent scientist of the America, Thomas Edison could be a proper example of it. Thomas Edison lived in America when the first lightbulb was advented, it was stunning to whole society. Edison shows the time when people were started to use electronic and their lives before and after the lightbulb he invented. The first lightbulb exist for very short time and it was exorbitant that many scientist include Edison were attempted to develope the durable and affordable one. But, it was very demanding for scientist to invent a new lightbulb that many of them abnegated to invent it. However, not like others Edision tried over millions of trial and finally made long-lasting and inexpensive lightbulb by devising filament.

There are more people who represent the society well. Kim Dae Jung, the past president of the South Korea is one of them. He was a great exampler that shows the peacful period of East Asia and Korea. North and South Korea was in distant relationship because since the end of the war between them. Dae Jung struggled to solve their problem through endorse North Korea with many foods and clothes. Also, he tried to build more peaceful democratic country and advocate democracy near South Korea. Due to his relenteless effort, he won the Nobel Peace Prize, finally.

Major cities could not help to understand their own society until the globalization has prosperated. For instance, Hongkong, was civilized by Great Britian and currently is territory of China, is one of the most densely populated city in the world. As globalization gradually increased, Hongkong began to lose its color of both British and Chinese. It has absorbed various cultures from all around the world that it is no more possible for people to find the only characteristic of the society in Hongkong. Thus, I strongly believe that it would be better to study minor cities which is not influenced by the other cultures, in order to fathom the society better.

In summary, not like other people, I disagree with the assertion that studying major cities help understand the most significant characteristics of a society for the reasons I mentioned above. It would be better to understand a society’s features by prominent people and unhampered minor cities.