To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A country’s major cities often carry a wealth of history stemming from their civilizations’ very beginnings up to the modern day developments in technology and globalization. Although cities are major hubs of a society’s activities and characteristics, they often are unable to represent society as a whole and therefore are not adequate to embody all of the most important characteristics of a society.

Many countries experience the most development in their major cities, but this development may not be prominent in more rural areas that are still essential to a country’s society and characteristics. Brazil recently showcased its major city Rio in the Summer Olympics as a technologically and culturally rich destination to host a majority of the world’s countries. Other parts of Brazil, however, have not experienced the same development that Rio has enjoyed, leaving Brazil’s citizens with inadequate infrastructure and in squandering living conditions. In this scenario, studying only the major city of Rio would not give any insight into the prominent poverty of Brazilian society and would serve as a poor example of Brazil’s most important characteristics. Similarly, many African countries also experience this same misrepresentation of society but in an opposite scenario: impoverished rural African societies are often characterized as the most prominent aspect of African societies, but such a representation fails to showcase the development existent in major cities of these countries. Such representation of African societies is often used to market “voluntourism” and fraudulent aid businesses to foreigners but would be undermined by appropriate representation of African city development. In this case, studying only African cities would give representation of development but also fail to account for the often overrepresented poverty of rural African societies.

Examining only major cities of a society may give valuable insight into a country’s present-day economic and societal workings but often cannot embody the essential history of a society prevalent outside of the development of cities. China’s present-day major cities are a great representation of China’s large workforce and have rich cultural representation throughout but often fail to fully represent the long history that led to present-day Chinese society. Important cultural heritage sites such as the Great Wall of China and the Terracotta Warriors are tokens of dynastic China and are monuments of important times in Chinese history but exist mostly away from major cities. Without such cultural tokens, an assessment of Chinese culture based on only major cities would be incomplete without the monuments attesting to the times that were essential to shaping present-day China. Additionally, the United States also experiences such misrepresentation between its cities and rural areas. Present-day major cities like New York City and Los Angeles are icons of current American society, but such locations often exclude the rural population and history of America in which slavery and other race-based issues were once prevalent and were an important factors shaping American society. Indeed, racism and discrimination issues often found in rural areas of America are still prevalent in overall American society but usually not as common in urban settings. Analysis of only urban areas of America would exclude discrimination issues important to both past- and present-day America and would fail to showcase the most important characteristics of American society.

Due to both this lack of important historical characterization of a society as well as the disparities often found between rural and urban areas of a society, examining only the major cities of a society will not give an accurate representation of a society and its most important characteristics. Society is an extremely intricate and multi-faceted entity present in all parts of a society and requires both the urban and rural characteristics in order to be defined in any sense.