More and more qualified people are moving from poor to rich countries to fill vacancies in specialist areas like engineering, computing and medicine.

Some people believe that by encouraging the movement of such people, rich countries are stealing from poor countries. Others feel that this is only part of the natural movement of workers around the world.

Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that people with careers in such professions move from one country to another to take job positions in parts of the world. To a certain extent I agree that this phenomenon indicates that comparably deprived countries lose their important workforce. However, I also believe that this is a natural process in the modern world.

Many people believe that it is unfair that developed countries take away professional workers from developing countries. It is vitally important for a country to keep its specialists in a variety of professions in order to prosper. However, if the country has a lack of these workers, it will reduce the quality of people’s lives. For example, many nurses in Philippine moved to improved countries such as the USA and Australia, and as a result, it is facing an issue with the quality of hospital services. At the same time, people are having troubles of not being able to receive proper diagnoses due to a shortage of competent doctors.

There are several reasons why I believe highly intelligent people tend to move to better countries. Firstly, many different types of professional jobs are undervalued in certain undeveloped countries, and people with such careers are tempted to better payments and recognition in rich countries. They will decide to move out of their countries if there are job offers overseas in order to pursue a success and reside in better environment. Secondly, it may be great opportunities for a specialist to have an experience in different countries. A period of work abroad will broaden their horizon. In the new country, the workers will work and interact with other people of various nationalities. Thus, they are exposed to different cultures, customs and points of views.

In conclusion, there are convincing arguments both for and against the phenomenon of professional workers residing other countries, but I agree more on the contention of the natural process.