53. The use of social media, such as Facebook and Twitter, is replacing face-to-face contact in this century. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, some social networks are prevailing in communication over the traditional contact. I agree that the demerit of this development will overwhelm the merit in social skills and relationships

On the one hand, the advance technology brings positive effects to daily communication. Firstly, people benefit from the convenience of electrical contact. Thanks to social network such as Google meet, people can contact each other without any physical obstacles; thus the employees are easily accomplished their missions by the virtual assistance of professional buddies, leading to the significant enhancement in cooperation between the conglomerates, producing more products for society. Secondly, people can have new buddies via using social network. If they had a Facebook or Twitter, they could comfortably search for virtual friends since these media platforms provide robust functions to find and match friends easily. Furthermore, the more friends they have, the more opportunities they become close, so these can profoundly share experience that aid people to overcome challenges or detrimental psychology in life. For example, children having virtual buddy can have less chance to get autism than others since they can have friends to share feelings

On the other hand, this technology can trigger negative effects to social relationships. Firstly, people might lack of communication skills if they use social media too much. Those addicted in using these platforms such as students or labors spend more time on chatting and giving comments to posts on Facebook or Twitter of other people instead of using these time in accumulating precious soft skills such as learning English or training for interviewees, they will be facing failed interviewees or earning low income in daily life. Secondly, social media can easily discourage real interactions. By virtual networks, people prefer the virtual relationships due to its fast and convenient, so neglecting true friends and families are usually occurring, triggering the reluctant attitudes when they get an invitation to join particularly environmental activities such as picnic or football which can strengthen social relationships. As a result, they distance themselves from buddies and relatives, breaking the long-established relationship between them.

In conclusion, the disadvantages of this development are outweighing the advantages. I reckon that the consequences of this will cause the lack of social skills and broken acquaintances