The use of social media, such as Facebook and Twitter, is replacing face-to- face contact in this century. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is clear that there are numerous benefits that generated by the utilizing of social networks, such as Facebook and Twitter. While this correspondence is more likely to alter face-to-face reaction among human, I strongly argue that these are outweighed by the advantages.

On the one hand, there are two major drawbacks that are considered as consequences of the use of social media. Firstly, there are no any measures that ensure real identification of stranger individuals who attempt to contact with others via social networking sites due to advances in technology such as photoshop or filter application. For example, most of youngsters are likely to find lovers by using dating apps on mobile phones despite the high level of risks such as fraud or sexual harassment. Secondly, sonic waves that radiate from electronic devices that allow people to be on the internet is one of reasons that causes mental disorders. To be specific, studies have shown that those psychological disorders lead to phenomena tend to decline the demand of face-to-face communication of those who usually spend as much as time on Facebook.

On the other hand, I firmly believe that there are more beneficial impacts of the social media on modern life rather than disadvantages. Firstly, social network is the most convenient and state-of-the-art technological breakthrough to access to global habitat. For example, billions of individuals are able to contact and make friend with others who is from all over the world with appropriate cost. Besides, those who are considering to arrange a real meeting with a new friend whom they have just known via the Internet could take a pre-check by searching information about the person on one’s profile and habits that usually are updated continually on one’s Facebook.

In conclusion, although using the social media causes the decline of face-to-face communication, I argue that the benefits that the social networking sites created outweigh the drawbacks of that.