With the advancement in technology, the number of computers being used in the field of education has increased. Some people believe that there will be no role for teachers in the classroom.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As the technology industry has witnessed dramatic development, it is thought by some that computers will take the place of teachers in the education field. While I agree that computers are taking part in more and more aspects of education, I believe that education still needs human teachers because of their mental support.

Providing learners with personalized learning and more accurate knowledge could be regarded as two major benefits of computer-based learning. Digital learning tools can produce learners with active learning conditions in which they are free to choose the place and time to study, leading to the better acquirement of knowledge as well as academic results. Moreover, while teachers, as humans can make some mistakes during lessons, computers could always impart correct knowledge,

On the other hand, I believe that teachers could never lose their role in the classroom. While learning with the computer, to achieve much success in studying, students need to have great self-discipline, which just a minor number have. Therefore, the promotion and vision of teachers are essential in classes to ensure the effectiveness of the lessons and the academic performance of learners. Moreover, although computers can provide more correct knowledge than teachers, they could not support students’ personal matters. There haven’t been any computers that help students with financial aid, confide with students to reduce their mental problems, or visit their houses to ask about students’ health.

In conclusion, although some people hold the opinion that computers could supply teachers’ place in education, I totally disagree with this statement because of the indispensable human connection with students that only teachers can create.