The birth rate in most developed countries is predicted to begin to fall over the next 50 years. By 2030 it is estimated that over one third of the population in most developed countries will be aged 65 and over:

What effects will these predictions have on developed countries if they prove true? What can be done now to deal with this situation?

Give reason for your answer and include any relevant example from your own knowledge or experience

It is projected that the rate of birth in most developed countries will be declined over the next 50 years. Meanwhile, over 33% of the population in these countries will be over age 65 by 2030. In my opinion, both factors are detrimental to developed countries. However, it can still be tackled in several ways.

With regards to society, the impact of the growing number of senior citizens will burden the community. This is because senior citizens are unemployed and they are very dependent on the government's welfare. For example, the financial department of Norway estimates that the annual budget required for the welfare of senior citizens will double up in the next 10 years, lesser funds can be allocated for development and hence slow down the development of the country. On the other hand, lower birth rate will deteriorate the reactivity of the community in near future as youngsters are energized and hard working in comparison with senior citizens. Reduced amount of fresh workers will lead to shortage of manpower in every sector.

There are two effective ways to resolve these issues. Firstly, the government ought to encourage the development of automation in order to replace repetitive tasks such as assemblies. By doing so, large amount of workforce can be released to do something more productive instead. Another method is to adjust up the retirement age so more retired ones can return to their workplace once again. This solution not only relieves the shortage of manpower but also senior citizens no longer rely on welfare as income source which reduce the financial stress of developed countries.

To conclude, the adverse impact of this particular scenario is devastating upon developed countries. If these solutions are implemented by the government, this hardship can be avoided.