The breakthroughs in medical science are by far the most significant advances in world society over the last two centuries.

Discuss this statement and give your opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

In recent times, the steps of science-technology have made a crucial contribution to the development of society. Although there is a school of thought that the significant marches of medical science might be considered the pinnacle of human life about two hundred years, I hold an opposite opinion that those breakthroughs could contain some drawbacks towards human beings.

Without any doubt, a series of fatal/dangerous/serious diseases have been prevented, completely wiped out in the flow of history. For example, humans are likely to curb tuberculosis, which used to take many people around the world for centuries. Thanks to medical breakthroughs, the average human life expectancy might be remarkably increased. When it comes to modern medical interventions, people tend to get better treatment and faster recovery than traditional methods like curing by herbs or acupuncture. Therefore, there is no denying the advantages that medical marches have brought.

On the other hand, medical advances might also lead to thousands of negative aspects. It is also said that the more people develop medical science, the less humane people, due to ethical beliefs. Many animals like mice, rabbits would be used to test not only on painful medical treatments but also on new medicines. Furthermore, the medical developments might lead to biological warfare that would no longer threaten all human races. If the authorities of the developed nations implement medical science to launch meaningless wars, they will end human history.

In conclusion, medical science would play a crucial role in human development in the community. If the applications in medical science are not implemented for malicious/evil purposes, their use will make people's lives more prosperous.