Children's education is expensive. In some countries, the government should pay for some of or all of the costs. Do the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

Although children's education costs are exorbitant, according to the policies of some countries, it is government's duty to subsidize them. Regarding the issue, there are a number of advantages and some drawbacks that will be discussed in the essay.

To begin with, this action of government can alleviate some families' financial situation. Without depending on the place of a family in social stratification, in otherwise situation, each has to pay the same amount of money for education of their offspring. While it may not be a significant problem for families with high income, poor people will certainly undergo a financial burden. Hence, government's support in the issue are more likely to forestall the inevitable rise in the number of uneducated citizens whose family could not merely afford their studies.

On the other hand, it is also crucial to emphasize other fields on which government is supposed to expend money. In other words, enormous funding shared to education may end up scarcity of money for other areas such as sport, healthcare and so on. Thus, such allocation of financial resources can possibly put them under the threat of impecunity. For instance, since patients will not be able to get easily cured because of medicine shortage, the mortality rate of a country will increase. Hence, lack of funding can bring about serious problematic outcomes in the non-educational sectors.

To conclude, although government's financial support for students' studies may sustain high education level in country, it will have adverse effect on other sectors. Therefore, advantages concerning the issue do not lag behind its disadvantages.