Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of put behind bars,

To what extent do you agree?

There is a prevalent idea among a segment of society that imprisonment is better be substituted with unwaged work for some offenders. I am a firm believer of the notion that such a replacement of sentence should be favored.

To begin with, criminals that commit offences due to financial burden should be forced to work for free, as this experience will both be punishment and rehabilitation for them. Generally, some jobless people are obliged to get involved with the crime activities such as shoplifting and robbery because they have failed to be accepted to the series of workplaces. This may be either because of their lack of skills in certain jobs, which they have not been able to find a chance to develop, or tendency toward illegal behaviours. That is why offenders may sharpen required skills by doing a particular job, which will not only rehabilitate them but also enhance their career prospects.

Regarding the second fact, prison is detrimental to inmate's future since their psychologies rather break down under such conditions. In other words, being surrounded by different types of prisoners will potentially affect a certain person's way of thinking by inducing it to the violence. As a result, after getting released from jail, he or she is more likely to repeat criminal activities. Moreover, the new case can be even harsher than former one because of having communicated with high-level offenders.

To conclude, it is suggested to replace the prisons with free work for some culprits. I am a strong advocate of the idea that using prisoners as workforce can be beneficial, as the probability of future crimes will decrease.