The most common solution for criminal behaviour is prison but many believe education is a better method.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a prevalent idea among a segment of society that the most effective way of dealing with crimes is to sentence criminals to imprisonment, while some believe that education could bring more positive results. I am a firm believer of the notion that the implementation of educational programs is more beneficial method compared to sending offenders to prisons in reducing crime rates.

First of all, findings show that sentencing offenders to imprisonment fails to address the future criminal involvement of the inmates. After leaving the prison, the criminals are less likely to be provided with a job and successfully integrate into the society, which forces them to perform crime again. The main culprit behind this situation is that the prison environment isolates the offenders from the society. Being totally disconnected from the outer world within the prison, the former criminals become unable to adapt to the new community. Additional reason is that as the inmates are not provided with an environment to sharpen their skills, the former convicts are not considered to have high potential in job market, which prevents them to successfully function in a community.

The educational programs can be the leading factor in the rehabilitation of criminals. If the offenders are furnished with specific educational programs based on their crimes, they could be more prone to be chastened, which could potentially reduce the reoffending rates of the inmates. Moreover, if the convicts are taught the necessary skills demanded in the today’s job market, they could achieve an easier transition to the society, as they did not lose their potential during the rehabilitation period.

In conclusion, imprisonment is regarded as the most efficient measure to prevent crime by a specific portion of people, while there are some people who holds the view that the education is better option. I am a strong advocate of the idea that education is a more preventive solution to addressing the criminals’ further involvement in crime.