The most common solution for criminal behaviour is prison but many believe education is a better method.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Although imprisonment has always been accepted as a most adequate measure for crime, there are those who rather support the idea of enhancing educational system. As far as I am concerned, prison is, in fact, the plausible solution as education does not guarantee to solve the issue.

First and foremost, existence of educated people who commit crime by taking advantage of their position confirms the point. In other words, it has been frequently observed that some government officials and others most probably owning formal degree get accused of bribery and corruption that are also considered as illegal activities. Moreover, their strong academic background plays undeniable role in their promotion to high positions which make them confident enough to get involved in criminal behaviours. Thus, such offences can only be prevented by sentencing them to lock-up.

Secondly, regardless of whether better education level can potentially ameliorate the situation or not, some youngsters are still not able to attend schools. In this case, poor families can be taken as an example because they cannot easily afford their offspring's studies. In future, those children will suffer from being out of a job and turn into criminal by committing robberies or other crimes. Therefore, prison will force them to avoid such activities after being free.

To conclude, it is argued if high academic standards can replace the imprisonment. Well-educated individuals committing offences and indigent people not affording schools have shown that education does not effectively solve the situation leaving lock-up the dominant way.