The most common solution for criminal behaviour is a prison but many believe education is a better method.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People argue that instead of putting criminals into incarceration, we could better minimize crime by tackling systemic problems in our educational systems. In my opinion, while education seems to be inevitable, deterrence remains the optimal blockage of criminality.

Some believe that education is a better tactic as it holds long-term influence. The main cause of crime is poverty and that can be associated unequivocally with education. There are, for example, some countries with strong educational systems. In New Zealand, which has one of the most first-class school systems throughout the world, the country itself maintains the lowest level of unemployment mostly attributed to the highest scale of graduates. Most of its citizens can find well-paid jobs, therefore, the criminal rate always remains lowest globally. There is no cause to commit a crime if people have stable monthly salaries to afford their family.

Despite the obvious ramifications that education can bring about, deterrence remains the main reason why people do not commit crimes. If there were not any strict imprisoned-related policies, people would be entitled to steal, murder or commit whatever crime they choose. A good example of the effect of blocking up criminals is in some countries with mandatory sentencing measures such as Vietnam, whose regulations targeting to impose severe sentences on drug-related crimes, thus the country itself seems successful in dealing with drug trafficking and distribution alike. There is no substitute for clear-cut logic rendered by the threat of prison.

In conclusion, despite the unequivocal benefits of education, putting criminals into incarceration appears to be the most effective way to curb criminality. Every nation ought to balance between economy and education while not neglecting the key role of imprisonment.