Is competition really good?

In modern civilization, the issue of how competition influences human lives has become a constant debate causing two main problems related to psychology and economy. Fortunately, however, even those negative spheres of competition impact significantly, this kind of movement seems to be one of the effective stimulation within the realm of education and economy.

Competition, initially is supposed to become a leading cause of stress, depression, and other disorders among youngsters in universities these days. Achieving high scores or paying professor’s attention, for instance, is occurred in these academic environments. Hence, the number of students suffering from mental problems has inclined to increase gradually as a part of competitive activities on a regular basis. On the contrary, despite the fact that competition provides some potential risks for the mental health of young people, it could not be denied that our brain’s function obtains significant enhancements by competing in daily lives. More specifically, social scientists demonstrated that the brain would operate more actively and enthusiastically under the pressure of competitive transformation. Therefore, the merit of competition is relatively more dominant than the downside which proves this tendency to be more valuable and advantageous in the school curriculum.

Besides, opponents disputed that not only could competition lead to psychological aspects, but it also makes a severe adversity in the economy of a country. The competitive market, for example, turns out to impact profoundly on the number of firms as it might bring some restrictions for these to be creative and innovative in general. Consequently, competition at least in cases diminishes the development of the nation’s economy which should be taken into account by the government. Notwithstanding, others believe that competitive actions or strategies would offer myriad potential opportunities for developing and improving the company’s brand or even finance. In a particular circumstance, the more competitive activities the firms generate to the market, the more choices consumers obtain associated with their own preferences. Thereby, it is assumed that competition makes a great contribution to foster the economy in both internal and external boundaries as a breakthrough during centuries.

Accordingly, even though psychological and economic effects could stem from competitive tendencies in some inevitable situations, it is disputed that people attain considerably in both educational and economic fields. Thanks to the manifestation of competition, whether in academic or commercial departments, participants would still be able to appreciate the positive of competition.