Countries are becoming more and more similar because people can buy the same products anywhere in the world.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In the globalization era, every citizen can purchase commodities from everywhere in the world, leading to a controversy that nations are becoming more identical and lacking identity. In my opinion, this situation indeed brings a positive development for human beings.

To begin with, we can discuss the merit of getting similar due to global trading for every country. The ability to purchase and possess foreign products can improve people’s standard of living significantly. The reason is that they can enjoy great quality goods and services that cannot be generated in their mother countries. For example, everyone can drive a car, go on a plane, and use a smartphone even if their country does not produce these things. The gap between developing and developed countries shrinks and people feel more equal in terms of living standards. Owning other nations’ products can also facilitate to manufacture of that country due to mimicking and copying, and this will reinforce the country’s industry and service. To sum up, becoming identical via purchasing goods brings multiple benefits for the inwards of a country.

The benefit does not limit to only a certain country but stretches all over the world. To be more specific, manufacturing will be improved remarkably, triggering the development of the global economy. This enhancement will take place in every nation equally and give rise to eradicating poverty and famine, and improving health facilities and education. Multi-nation corporations always take the lead in funding education and healthcare for underdeveloped countries thanks to the economic benefit they get from global trading. On top of that, people from all over the world can build a strong connection with each other because of their similarities. People from different cultures can get engaged with each other which prevents racism and violence. As a consequence, the diplomatic relationships between each country will be bonded and enhanced, and the world’s conflicts will be mitigated and consolidated.

In conclusion, I have a firm conviction that the movement of getting identical due to purchasing internationally brings beneficial benefits for every country and the world. Even though this can potentially cause cultural assimilation, people can preserve their cultural identity in other ways rather than prevent trading products. The government should impose positive policies supporting exporting and importing activities.