DANGERS OF SMOKING ARE WELL KNOWN, YET MANY PEOPLE CONTINUE WITH THIS HABIT.

WHAT ARE THE CAUSES OF THIS? HOW CAN WE REDUCE SMOKING IN SOCIETY?

GIVE REASONS FOR YOUR ANSWER, AND INCLUDE ANY RELEVANT EXAMPLES FROM YOUR OWN KNOWLEDGE OR EXPERIENCE.

Smoking is an important issue to discuss in today’s world. Although it’s a widely known fact that smoking is hazardous, people fail to quit smoking. Prevalence of smoking habit increases consistently due to multiple factors including Stress and over modernization of families. Strategic actions should be taken to cope up with this emerging issue. This essay will discuss the main causes of why people cannot get rid of smoking and suggest solutions to overcome this problem.

The leading cause of smoking in today’s time is stress. The reason being Increased workload and failed relationships have made people’s lives miserable, so they find it an easy escape from all the stress. For instance a man coming home after a stressful long day and have a fight with family, he will take his stress out by lightning a cigarette. The second most common cause is trying to be modern. Cigarette in fingers is considered as a style in young generation. However it has totally destroyed our youth, they find it charming and fashionable activity. Youngsters believe they can seek attention by doing this. To illustrate take an example of a modern family if parents are active smokers, their children grow up seeing this throughout their life; adopt this habit and further pass it to their offspring. These causes collectively lead to rise of smoking habit.

In order to stop this prevailing habit of smoking, major steps should be taken. Firstly, cut down on stress of general population by avoiding overburdening of workload. Strategic approach should be made to decrease the stress of work places because if someone is in a state of peace at work, he or she will be mentally relaxed and will be more capable or responsible towards their families. Secondly, parents should be educated about adverse effects of smoking on themselves and their children in a long run. Stop this trend of proportionality between smoking and modernization. Health awareness sessions should be conducted to warn human beings about its side effects and complications because despite of being highly involved in habit of smoking, majority of population is least aware of its lethal complications. For example, Ireland started taking health awareness sessions to eradicate smoking from their nation 15 years ago and now they have successfully decreased the rate of smoking by 80%. Other than this, Government should raise prices and taxes on such products which are injurious to health and bad for human population as well as environment. Take an example of recent tax rise policy in Pakistan. Government has increased taxes on cigarettes by 13% to decrease number of smokers in country. There are some countries where smoking is totally banned in public and work places and the same law made it illegal to advertise such dangerous products.

This essay discussed that despite of knowing the fact that smoking is injurious to wellbeing and whole community, people continue with their habit of smoking. The top leading causes for this situation are believed to be a state of mental or emotional strain or tension exerted by adverse or demanding circumstances and over modernization without proper education. Possible solutions for these problems are supposed to be encouragement of mental and physical health by decreasing tension and implementation of strategic laws for prohibition of smoking and spreading social awareness against hazardous effects of smoking. To conclude, proper planning with vision, therefore, is necessary to cope up with this major issue.