Do you think that physical education should be in curriculum in schools?

The issue of incorporating sports to the study plan of schoolers has always heated up a controversy among people especially those who arrange the school’s curriculum. Although some may opine that other lessons like science are more important to be highly emphasized, the number of those who agree with the significance of physical education can never be underestimated. I, for one, believe that doing sports helps students physically, mentally and personally.

From health prospective, to engage in sports activities makes students benefit from both physical and mental health. Schools’ authorities usually organize the study plan in a way that pupils have to spend a great deal of time in the classes listening to the teachers, focusing on the lessons, and struggling with the given assignments. So, they may find themselves to be physically inactive for some hours. Not only does it hurt their public health but also they may feel exhausted eventually affecting their productivity. Dedicating an ample time to sports, students are able to exercise effectively helping them prevent any health-related issues. Furthermore, it has been widely demonstrated in recent research articles that being involved in sports enhances brains’ activities, for it stimulates the release of some certain hormones. Therefore, if the schools’ consultants add physical education in the school’s curriculum, students can take advantage of mental efficiency leading to substantial academic performance.

From personal point of view, being engaged in physical education is beneficial for students to foster some characteristics. Playing group sports opens up an opportunity to schoolers to learn how to take responsibilities, how to respect other teammates and leaders, and how to collaborate effectively with others to let their teams gain a desirable result. Moreover, students will be able to take an invaluable lesson that failure is not the end of the road; in contrast, it opens a door to them that by trying diligently they will receive whatever they wish.

To sum up, in the light of the aforementioned benefits, I can conclude that by the introduction of physical education into the students’ study plan, they will definitely have an opportunity to improve their physical, mental and personal status.