Education for young people is important in many countries. However, some people think that the government should spend more money on education in adult population who cannot read and write. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that the prosperity of a country hinges heavily on its education system. Traditionally, the focus of education in most countries has been on the youth. However, some people are arguing that more funding should be allocated to improving adult literacy. I completely agree with this thinking.

There are many compelling reasons why promoting literacy among adults is a worthy cause to invest in. First, a higher proportion of the population who know how to read and write can give the economy a healthy boost. Illiteracy is a major handicap in job seeking, not only because it can be viewed unfavorably by employers, but also because it prevents people from getting a better education. Putting more efforts in teaching literacy skills to adults can improve their chances of being hired and, by extension, reduce unemployment and poverty.

Increasing adult literacy can be a potent tool to curb crime. People who are unable to find a job due to being illiterate may resort to illegal activities to survive. Africa is a case in point. Violence and criminal activities in the region have been rife for years – a situation that is deeply rooted in a high rate of uneducated population. This is a testament to how investing in literacy education could be instrumental in purging society of crime.

In conclusion, while the importance of education for the young is clear, I believe that combatting high rates of adult literacy is also an area where the government’s funding and attention are warranted.