Education for young people is important in many countries. However, some people think that the government should spend more money on education in adult populations who cannot read and write. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the prosperity of a nation depends heavily on its education system. Traditionally, the focus of education in most countries has been on the youth. However, in second and third world countries, there is a debate as to whether governments should invest in educating young generations or in literacy programs for the adult populace. In my perspective, I think that both points of view should be concerned.

On the one hand, in the context of the Fourth Industrial Revolution is taking place strongly, the quality of human resources play a vital role in reflecting the socio-economic development of each country, so there is no doubt that authorities should spend more money on curriculums for young people to create highly qualified human resources. In addition, people work in fields such as technology and finance need to be methodically and in-depth training to be able to meet market needs.

On the other hand, there are many compelling reasons why promoting literacy among adults is a worthy cause to invest in. First, a higher proportion of the population who know how to read and write can give the economy a healthy boost. Illiteracy is a major barrier in the job-seeking because it not only not suitable for the recruitment criteria of employers but also prevents people from getting a better education. Putting more efforts in teaching literacy skills to adults can improve their chances of being hired and, by extension, reduce unemployment and poverty. Furthermore, increasing adults literacy can be a potent tool to curb crime. People who are unable to find a job due to being illiterate may resort to illegal activities to survive. For example, in Africa, violence and criminal activities in the region have been rife for years - a situation that is deeply rooted in a high rate of uneducated population. This is a testament to how allocating to literacy education could be instrumental in minimizing society crime rate.

In conclusion, while the importance of education for the young is clear, I believe that raising literacy rates in adults is also an area where the government's funding and attention are warranted.