Education for young people is important in many countries. However, some people think that the government should spend more money on education in adult populations who cannot read and write. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, education is considered to be one of the top priorities of governments worldwide. However, there is a debate about whether investing in young or illiterate adults is not beneficial.

The argument about spending more on young people Education is clear. They have a long working life ahead and therefore invest in them more efficiently than using money to educate older people and have few years of work before them. In addition, older illiterate workers are incapable of working in areas such as finance and technology. Most are doing manual jobs in agriculture and industry. Indeed, if you ask these elderly workers on this topic, I am sure most will prefer governments that focus more on young people (their children) because in many traditional societies, the younger generation is responsible for taking care of their parents.

Although this is a strong argument, there are many reasons to believe that using some of the money on illiteracy eradication programs for working people is helpful. First, these programs are usually relatively cheap. A trained reading teacher can educate hundreds of illiterate people using only basic materials. Second, when a person is illiterate, it does not only affect their employment situation. People today need to be able to read for bank accounts, claim government benefits and pay their bills. Moreover, let's not forget that much of the information is still printed, despite the fact that we live in an age of video on TV and YouTube.

In short, the argument is that the government should spend more on young people instead of illiterate older people who aren't watertight. There are obvious benefits to spending more on adult literacy programs. Although I agree that spending more on young people than literate adults, this should not be forgotten and even a little funding can make a big difference.