Explain some of the ways in which humans are damaging the environment.

What can governments and individual people do to address these problems?

Humans are responsible for variety environment problems. After having awareness about it, both governments and individuals should make an effort to reduce damage that we are causing to this planet.

Two of the biggest threats to the environment are air pollution and waste which from daily activities of humans. Nowadays, despite we are trying to research and develop renewable energy resources, fossil fuel is still the chief energy for production and transportation. Emissions from factories and vehicle are directly leading some phenomenon like acid rain and global warming. Next, the living standard of humans increases day by day, more goods are consumed, that means, we are also producing ever greater quantities of waste. That wastes contaminate the earth and pollutes rivers and oceans. More pollution we make today, more devastating effect on our health and planet in future.

Governments can certainly make effort to reduce pollution. They can regulate the quantity of emissions from factories and vehicles by introducing laws to limit fossil fuel usage or imposing ‘green taxes’ on drivers and airlines companies. Moreover, administrators also could launch media campaigns to accelerate the awareness of citizens about reducing waste and environment protection.

Furthermore, every individual person can be environment activist by taking responsibility for impact they have on ecosystem of this planet. In order to improve the situation, they can take public transport rather than driving or choose product with less and environment-friendly packaging and recycle as much as possible. For instance, we can use reusable glass to drink coffee or bubble tea, fabric shopping bags instead of using plastic cups or disposable bags. By reusing and recycling, we can help reduce waste.

In conclusion, both national governments and individuals must play their parts in looking after environment.