Fossil fuel is the main source of energy. In some countries, the use of alternative sources of energy is encouraged. To what extent do you think is it a positive or negative development?

It is irrefutable that fossil fuels are the main source of energy in many parts of the world. Governments across continents are likely to make a transition towards renewable energy. In my opinion, it could be seen as a progress in balancing the demand for energy.

Dependence on fossil fuel for worldwide energy supply would cause environmental degradation. It is due to the fact that the burning of fossil fuels releases large amounts of carbon dioxide into the atmosphere, which makes a great contribution/directly linked to global warming. Similarly, oil extraction companies frequently disposed of drilling waste into oceans and their transportation activities carry a huge risk of oil leaks and oil spills, which not only kill marine organisms but also poison the food chains of many species living around oil rigs. In contrast, using solar power, for example, is considered an ultimate choice of energy conservation since it has minimal impact on the envoironment.

Excessive consumption of fossil fuel can lead to depletion of natural resources. To begin with, fossil fuels, our primary source of energy, are, on one hand, on the verge of exhaustion since it is non-renewable. Take Germany as an example, a great deal of bountiful oil fields have been tapped and are likely to run out, which leads to oil production stagnation. Therefore, alternative energy sources/ viable renewable energy supplies are undoubtedly a good option to substitute conventional fuel sources due to its abundant supply. For instance, only a tiny fraction of the sun's rays reach the Earth, but those that do provide enough energy to warm the planet and make it hospitable for life.

In conclusion, I believe that the use of other potential energy sources to replace fossil fuel is obviously an important step forward in order to promote sustainable development.