Fossil fule is the main source of energy. In some countries, the use of alternative sources of energy is encouraged. To what extent do you think is it a positive or negative development ?

It is evident that fossil fuel plays a dorminant role in comparison with other sources of energy. However, some countries nowadays show preference to use alternative energy sources. In my opinion, it is a positive development.

In reference to individual, using alternative sources of energy is benificial in some ways. First, fossil fuels such as oil will not last forever. To cut down on fuel used, national authorities tend to raise tax or increase the price. This could result in heavier economic burden of each people. In condition, the use of fossil fuel brings large amount of carbon dioxide, which is so harmless to people's health. Therefore, the need of alternative energy sources should be marked as high on agenda.

To use alternative sources of energy is not only individual gain, but also community benefit. If people reduce the reliance on fossil fuel, global warming will be slowed down stemming from the decline of the quantities of greenhouse gases released into the atmosphere. This could bring about achievement of a sustainable development. In terms of the depletion of natural resources, world supplies of fossil fuel has dropped at alarming rate. Therefore, it is necessary to replaced them by other energy source.

In conclusion, fossil fuel remains the large source of world energy consumption. In terms of energy use, it is positive development that some countries attemp to reduce the dependence on this fuel.