In the future, it is expected that there will be a higher proportion of older people in some countries. Is this positive or negative development?

These days, pollution around the world is gradually increasing. There is an opinion that the percentage of the elderly will increase significantly in some nations in the future. From my point of view, this statement has both pros and cons.

On the one hand, old people live for such a long time in life. Therefore, the longer they stay in the country, the more experience they get. What I mean is that senior citizens have experienced all sorts of things, from failures to successes. A benefit for young people will be that they can learn from their past experiences and avoid committing similar mistakes in the future. Moreover, since the young, nowadays, are more occupied with their jobs, entertainment, than the old, they lack health to do jobs. Hence, they will have more time to do other activities, like engaging in charity work. As a result, providing free labor to their communities would have a positive impact on society.

On the other hand, beside the advantages, there are also some disadvantages for older people. Individuals get older, but they will be weaker and suffer more diseases. It would lead to bear more of a financial burden for families and the government as they have to pay for healthcare costs. Plus, younger people will experience some difficulties when the proportion of the old is higher. There is a lack of jobs for the young. It will be challenging for them to make a living. However, older people can continue to make a significant contribution to the economy through paid work.

To conclude, I believe that the young generation has a chance to absorb several lessons from old generations, however, it would affect the government and the young’s jobs. Population aging has more disadvantages than its advantages.